Blog

Urgent Call to Action!

This year’s DUID bill, SB12-117, has been making its course through the Colorado State Legislature, and is a few steps away from being passed into law. Recently, on 4/27/12, the bill was stripped of its provision that drivers who test positive for Schedule 1 and 2 drugs also would be charged with per-se DUID. This turned the bill into an extreme measure against medicinal cannabis patients in Colorado as it now sets a per-se 5 nano-gram limit (which says testing over five nano-grams is enough evidence to convict you of DUID, regardless) only for cannabis.

Please call your Senator this weekend (contact info below) . Ask them to vote against SB12-117, the DUID bill, this Monday, April 30, 2012 when it is brought up for its Second reading.

Some of the points you should emphasize are:

Medical Cannabis patients will often have high levels of Cannabinoids (THC/CBD) in them without being impaired as the body quickly builds up a tolerance to Cannabinoids. These people would not be legally able to drive if this bill passes.

Colorado already has laws on the books that prohibit driving under the slightest degree of impairment, and people are routinely convicted of driving while drugged under current law. SB 117 merely creates needless and discriminatory measures and penalties.

This bill creates a false dilemma by forcing medicinal cannabis patients to give up the right to drive a car. This is not fair as it leaves no shades of grey - when in fact with such a large population as Colorado, many people will have a bona fide tolerance to being inebriated from cannabis use. However, jurors will not be able to consider this if a person tests over five nano-grams.

There is no solid scientific evidence a set nano-gram limit judges impairment. Therefore, along with the lack of increase in traffic deaths, there is not any urgency to pass a bill like this.

A “Per Se” five nano-gram limit is the wrong law. A ”Rebuttal Presumption” five nano-gram limit would be better since it would allow Defendants a chance to prove their innocence.

The “DUID Working Group” set up by the Legislators last year came back against a five nano-gram limit. Instead they recommend training more Law Enforcement Officers to be Drug Recognition Experts.

Calling your Senator TODAY is the preferred method of contact as the bill will be heard by the Senators on Monday, 4/30/12 for its second reading.

Please be very respectful in your communications with the Senators.

CONTACT LIST OF ALL COLORADO STATE SENATORS

SENATOR DIST. COUNTY PHONE E-MAIL
Irene Aguilar D 32 Denver, Jefferson 303-866-4852 irene.aguilar.senate@state.co.us
Bob Bacon D 14 Larimer 303-866-4841 bob.bacon.senate@state.co.us
Betty Boyd D 21 Jefferson 303-866-4857 betty.boyd.senate@state.co.us
Greg Brophy R 1 Cheyenne, Elbert, Kiowa, Kit Carson, Lincoln, Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Prowers, Sedwick, Washington, Yuma 303-866-6360 greg@gregbrophy.net

Bill Cadman R 10 El Paso 303-866-2737 bill.cadman.senate@state.co.us
Morgan Carroll D 29 Aurora 303-866-4879 morgan.carroll.senate@state.co.us
Joyce Foster D 35 Arapahoe, Denver 303-866-4875 joyce.foster.senate@state.co.us
Angela Giron D 3 Pueblo 303-866-4878 angela.giron.senate@state.co.us
Kevin J. Grantham R 2 Baca, Bent, Crowley, Custer, Fremont, Huerfano, Las Animas, Otero, Pueblo 303-866-4877 kevin.grantham.senate@state.co.us

Lucia Guzman D 34 Denver 303-866-4862 lucia.guzman.senate@state.co.us
Ted Harvey R 30 Douglas 303-866-4881 ted.harvey.senate@state.co.us
Rollie Heath D 18 Boulder 303-866-4872 rollie.heath.senate@state.co.us
Mary Hodge D 25 Adams 303-866-4855 mary.hodge.senate@state.co.us
Evie Hudak D 19 Jefferson 303-866-4840 senatorhudak@gmail.com
Cheri Jahn D 20 Jefferson 303-866-4856 cheri.jahn.senate@state.co.us
Michael Johnston D 33 Adams, Denver 303-866-4864 mike.johnston.senate@state.co.us
Keith King R 12 El Paso 303-866-4880 keith@keithking.org
Steve King R 7 Garfield, Mesa 303-866-3077 steve.king.senate@state.co.us
Mike Kopp R 22 Jefferson 303-866-4859 mike.kopp.senate@state.co.us
Ken Lambert R 9 El Paso 303-866-4835 senatorlambert@comcast.net
Kevin Lundberg R 15 Larimer 303-866-4853 kevin@kevinlundberg.com
Shawn Mitchell R 23 Adams, Broomfield, Weld 303-866-4876 shawnmitch@aol.com
John Morse D 11 El Paso 303-866-6364 john.morse.senate@state.co.us
Linda Newell D 26 Arapahoe, Jefferson 303-866-4846 linda.newell.senate@gmail.com
Jeanne Nicholson D 16 Boulder, Clear Creek, Gilpin, Grand, Jefferson, Summit 303-866-4873 jeanne.nicholson.senate@state.co.us

Scott Renfroe R 13 Weld 303-866-4451 senatorrenfroe@gmail.com
Roberts, Ellen R 6 Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, Montrose, Ouray, San Juan, San Miguel 303-866-4884 ellen.roberts.senate@state.co.us

Mark Scheffel R 4 Douglas, El Paso, Lake, Park, Teller 303-866-4869 mark.scheffel.senate@state.co.us

Gail Schwartz D 5 Alamosa, Chaffee, Conejos, Costilla, Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Mineral, Pitkin, Rio Grande Saguache 303-866-4871 gail.schwartz.senate@gmail.com
Brandon C. Shaffer D 17 Boulder 303-866-5291 brandon@brandonshaffer.com
Nancy Spence R 27 Arapahoe 303-866-4883 nancyjspence@gmail.com
Pat Steadman D 31 Adams, Denver 303-866-4861 pat.steadman.senate@state.co.us
Lois Tochtrop D 24 Adams 303-866-4863 lotochtrop@aol.com
Jean White R 8 Eagle, Garfield, Jackson, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Routt 303-866-5292 jean.white.senate@state.co.us

Suzanne Williams D 28 Arapahoe 303-866-3432 suzanne.williams.senate@state.co.us

Post comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Follow Us